A brand new collection of thirteen short stories by the master of supernatural suspense and thrillers, exploring science fiction and fantasy themes.  All of the stories in this volume follow a simple and classic pattern: Exposition, conflict, resolution. Because of the short story format, there is not much room for complication or denouement, so these stories by nature are simpler than some of Wells’ other work, and therefore will keep the listener entertained and engrossed!

Included in this collection are:

  • Filmer
  • The Magic Shop
  • The Valley of Spiders
  • The Truth About Pyecraft
  • Mr Skelmersdale in Fairyland
  • The Inexperienced Ghost
  • Jimmy Goggles the God
  • The New Accelerator
  • Mr Ledbetter’s Vacation
  • The Stolen Body
  • Mr Brishner’s Treasure
  • Miss Winchelsea’s Heart
  • A Dream of Armageddon



About The Reader

John Banks is one of the UK’s most prolific audiobook narrators, working for the likes of Big Finish, Audible, Random House and Games Workshop. He is a true multi-voice, creating everything from monsters to marauding aliens. He is also an accomplished stage and TV actor.


About The Author 

Herbert George Wells was a novelist, teacher, historian and journalist, who has become known as the “father of science fiction.” His works have been adapted countless times, and provided the basis for many literary and theatrical productions.


About The Book

You can purchase an Audio CD edition of the audiobook directly from Fantom Films by CLICKING HERE.




Our audiobooks download as zipped files (due to their size and for your convenience). Once unzipped you will find all of the mp3 files for your audiobook named, and in correct file order.  Due to the way Apple has designed iOS, iPhones and iPads don’t recognise these zip files automatically (unlike Android devices).  So, if you buy one of our titles via your iPhone or iPad, there are two ways to find and listen to your files:

[1] Download for FREE iZip for iOS – then download the audiobook using the link provided either on the webpage or the email we sent you. After the file has downloaded click on the Open With option and choose iZip. The app will open and ask if you want it to unzip all the files, say yes. A minute or so later you will have a list of mp3 files in order, and you just need to tap on the one you want to play and it will start playing in the Audioplayer. You can easily play, pause, jump forward or back.

[2] Slightly easier – download the zip file to your PC or MAC, unzip it to a folder you know the location of (such as your Music or Documents folder), then use iTunes to transfer the files in the same way you would a music album.

We hope you enjoy your audiobook and come back for more soon!


John Banks


Neil Gardner


Purple Planet Music



File Size/Quality

192kbps (better than CD), 256kbps (superb quality), 320kbps (highest quality)


There are no reviews yet.

Only logged in customers who have purchased this product may leave a review.

Select your currency
GBP Pound sterling